UC Observer logo
UCObserver on SoundCloud UCObserver on YouTube UCObserver on Facebook UCObserver on Twitter UCObserver's RSS Feeds

Classified Ads

Classified Rates:

Print - $1 per word – includes bonus of FREE online placement

Online - $1 per word – can be uploaded immediately

*Note $50 minimum charge for all ads

Include photograph (print edition only) additional cost of:

$60 for 1 photo

$100 for 2 photos

Upcoming submission deadline dates:

April issue closed: online advertising available

May issue closed: online advertising available

June issue closed: online advertising available

July/August print issue - April 24, 2019


Place your ad with The Observer today!

We try our best to accommodate our advertisers. If you miss a print deadline, an online ad can be uploaded immediately. Email your ad copy to classifieds@ucobserver.org, or call Sharon Doran at 416-960-8500, or 1-800-936-4566, Ext. 230 for further information.



Ministers

Belleville, ON

St. Matthew’s, Pastoral Charge, is looking for a half-time minister due to a recent retirement. We are seeking a pastor who will share their faith, friendship, and pastoral work and lead us into a new future. Our church is located on the West Hill of the growing city of Belleville. Our mission is to serve our community through our food ministry and to share our facilities with other faiths. We are an aging congregation who values traditional worship. For further information please visit our website at www.stmatthewsbelleville.com. We invite applications for this position to be emailed to: stmatt@cogeco.net.


Brantford, ON

Sydenham-Heritage United Church is seeking a full-time member of the Order of Ministry with strong effective leadership skills that will empower the laity in the functioning of the community and to guide us to a deeper spiritual growth. As a progressive congregation, we would welcome a leader who will minister to and motivate people of all ages, socioeconomic backgrounds and educational levels. The candidate will need to be an inspirational speaker who can relate current events to theology. In addition, the candidate would create a culture that is friendly to young families. The applicant should be a capable administrator, flexible team player, a compassionate listener, approachable and energetic, with a great sense of humour. The full JNAC report is available at www.sydenham-heritage.ca. Last day for receiving applications with CV and references is May 31, 2019. Resumé with cover letter and CV should be emailed to sydenham.heritage.united@gmail.com.


Burlington, ON

Wellington Square United Church, is calling a full-time Lead Minister from the Ordered Ministry who is comfortable working in a team ministry environment and who demonstrates the following key strengths: inspiring preacher, teacher and worship leader; spiritual and visionary leader; enthusiastic and effective team leader; and experience working with and developing faith communities that attract and meet the needs of diverse groups, including youth and millennials. A detailed description of the position and a copy of the JNAC report are available on the church's website at www.wsquare.ca. From the home page, select 'Contact Us', then "Employment Opportunities'. For information, questions, or to submit an application (by March 15, 2019), please use wsqsearch19@gmail.com.


Calgary, AB

Wild Rose United Church is a beautiful, inclusive, affirming congregation, located in northwest Calgary; it has been making a difference on the North Hill for over 100 years. Wild Rose is seeking an ordained full-time minister with strong interpersonal and leadership skills as well as the ability to develop and nurture a "team ministry". As the spiritual leader for the congregation and staff, the candidate is responsible for leading spiritual growth, tending to pastoral needs and pursuing the congregation's desired ministries. The successful candidate will possess the ability to connect well with people of all ages. Wild Rose is a compassionate and progressive community where we care, share and dare to make a difference. Visit our website, www.wildroseunited.ca. All interested candidates should email: office@wildroseunited.ca.


Cape Breton, NS

St. Peter’s/Grand River/Loch Lomond is a one-point, transitioning Pastoral Charge. We are a small, welcoming family of faith located in the beautiful community of St. Peter’s, where the Atlantic Ocean meets the salt waters of the Bras D’Or. Though we are mostly traditional in our approach, we are open to new ways of worshiping and being a joyful, living expression of God’s word in action. Worship, spiritual growth, pastoral care and community outreach are our main areas of focus. We are seeking an ordained, commissioned, retired, or designated lay minister to fill a 2/3-time (27 hours per week) vacancy for a two-year appointment beginning June 1, 2019. Our JNA is on the Maritime Conference web site. Please send inquiries and applications to val.hiltz@ns.sympatico.ca.


Carberry, MB

Carberry United Church seeks a full-time diaconal or ordained minister to journey with us in Christ-centred worship and to encourage us in faith development and outreach. We have an active congregation (choir, Sunday School, youth group, drama group, prayer group) as well as committees to carry on the work of the church. Situated in rural southwestern Manitoba, we are on the TransCanada Highway and only 50 km from Brandon; 160 km from Winnipeg – but most amenities can be found in our small town. To learn more about this exciting position, contact mottfarm@xplornet.com.


Castleton/Grafton, ON

Castleton Grafton Pastoral Charge welcomes applicants from any stream of ministry for our 60% (24 hours per week) position. We are situated halfway between Toronto and Kingston, in the rolling hills of Northumberland County. Our affirming charge has a vision of worship, justice and community outreach, putting persons before dogma. Our ministry’s focus is on worship and pastoral care, with Sunday services at each church. To submit your resumé and/or request further information, please contact us at castleton.grafton@gmail.com.


Dundas, ON

St. Mark’s United Church is seeking a ¾-time member of the Order of Ministry. The successful candidate will value our history and join us with enthusiasm and passion as we seek new ways to live out our vision. The ideal candidate will have experience, abilities and energy to help us deepen our spiritual journeys, and strengthen and grow our Christian community. Located within the boundaries of Hamilton, Dundas maintains its small-town appeal. The full JNAC report is available at www.stmarksunitedchurch.ca. Apply in confidence to search@stmarksunitedchurch.ca.


Dundas, ON

St. Paul’s United Church, located in the beautiful valley town of Dundas, is seeking individuals to fill three positions effective July 1, 2019: an ordained full-time minister (as a result of retirement), an appointment for the ministry of Families and Young Adults (half-time) and an appointment for the ministry of Pastoral Care (half-time). You will have the opportunity, together with our minister of music and full-time staff, to lead us in faith development and outreach. We are a strong, active community of faith with some 400 members. Additional details respecting our history and current activities may be found by accessing our JNAC report on our web site (stpaulsdundas.com). Applications for the full-time ordained minister position should be emailed to leadminister.search@stpaulsdundas.com; for the families and young adults position to ministerfamiliesandyoungadults.search@stpaulsdundas.com and for the pastoral care position to ministerpastoralcare.search@stpaulsdundas.com. We would appreciate receiving all applications by February 15, 2019, but will continue to accept applications until the positions are filled.


Egmondville, ON

Egmondville United Church is seeking a new minister … are you looking for a change? We seek a minister with imagination to help us balance tradition and contemporary thought during Sunday morning worship. We are looking for a Minister who is gifted in ways of compassion, with skills in listening, sharing and pastoral care. We prefer our minister live in beautiful rural Huron County and be involved in our community. Our faith story and more information regarding EUC can be found on our website, egmondvilleunitedchurch.com. Please visit London Conference Website to apply www.londonconference.ca/content/vacancies, or www.churchhub.ca.


Fort Frances, ON

Knox United Church is an inclusive and caring faith community. Fort Frances is a Canada/USA border town on scenic Rainy Lake. It is the gateway to Sunset Country, an outdoor destination for individual and family activities throughout every season. The small-town atmosphere offers affordable living close to 3 major cities — Thunder Bay, Winnipeg, and Minneapolis. We are searching for a full-time minister (ordained, diaconal or designated lay recognized), one who will lead and inspire our congregation to praise God through caring for one another, as well as offering hope and help to those in need within our church family, the community within which we live, and the world beyond. We look forward to working with a minister who will give us direction, encouragement and creative ideas to help us rejuvenate our ministry with families and all age groups. Now that we have become an accessible, affirming congregation, we also look forward to working with a minister who will help us fulfill our mission of being an inclusive congregation committed to growth and responsible outreach. Applications accepted at elleneand@tbaytel.net.


Gitsegukla/Hazelton, BC

Hazelton Pastoral Charge in Northern British Columbia seeks a United Church Pastoral leader: a leader who wants to be inspired by majestic mountains, vast forests and large salmon rivers; a leader willing to be inspired by and learn from Gitxsan culture, story and art; a leader passionate about service and people. Our two churches, in Hazelton and Gitsegukla, are 32 kilometres apart. The manse is in Hazelton. We are on Highway 16, and have access to airports in Smithers and Terrace. We have an excellent hospital and medical care. Our mission statement calls on us to act justly, love mercifully and walk humbly with God. If this ad speaks to you, we would like to speak to you too! Please contact Peggy Muir at peggyjmuir@gmail.com. Our MPS is on line with B.C. Conference.


Halifax, NS

Rockingham United Church has a declared vacancy, due to retirement, for a full-time Ordained United Church of Canada Minister. Rockingham is a well-established residential area of Halifax, located a few minutes off the Halifax peninsula. This position will be of interest to Ordained Ministers with strong leadership, educational and development abilities. For more information, please consult the JNAC Report available at www.rockinghamunited.org. Please address all inquiries and applications, to the Search Committee’s email, rockinghamunitedjsc@gmail.com. Review of applications will proceed until the position is filled. 


Hamilton, Bermuda

Wesley Methodist Church is still looking for a full-time Ordained Minister! We'd like to open up this wonderful opportunity to a minister who can feed us with the news of God’s love and care and challenge us spiritually.  Our Official Board is ready to work with a new minister and support revitalization initiatives and outreach in our city home. There's a lot of potential here for those with drive and a ministry for making Jesus relevant to us in the 21st Century, to be vibrant and inclusive and to lead our island community by example.  If you see yourself as someone who wants to listen, observe, engage, share and work with an excited leadership team — we need you here in Bermuda. For our JNAC Report and to submit inquiries, please email Adrian Hartnett-Beasley at ahartnettbeasley@gmail.com, or visit www.facebook.com/WMC.Bermuda.


Hamilton, ON

St. Andrew’s United Church, located on the West Mountain, is a friendly, welcoming community for all to gather, grow in faith, learn and help others. We seek a full-time ordered minister (due to retirement) for a ministry team of 1½ positions who will help our congregation grow through inspirational worship, pastoral care and community outreach. We are energetic, diverse, down-to-earth and enjoy an informal atmosphere. Our past, present and future includes small groups and our strength of purpose to make a difference. If you feel called and you wish to collaborate with us, please view our profile at www.standrewsunitedhamilton.ca and submit your application to Cathy at standrewunitedsearch@gmail.com.


Ingersoll, ON

Imagine yourself being the minister of a vibrant church with spirit beyond the norm. If so, Trinity United Church, Ingersoll, is for you. Trinity is searching for an Ordained, Diaconal or DLM, to further her/his calling, to help a church community, established in 1804, to continue moving forward in its promising future. The position is available July 1, 2019. You will be leading a church, “a community that exists to teach a life-giving and inclusive Christian Faith” by nurturing spirituality, uplifting worship, and service in our community with our core values of justice, wisdom, respect and hope. As a full-time minister of the Word, Sacrament and Pastoral Care, you will be entrusted with the leadership and the opportunity to open our hearts to the love and mystery of God, and the privilege and responsibility of sharing significant moments in the lives of our congregation while respecting the history and traditions of Trinity United Church. Your use of variety, creativity and flexibility appropriate to the changing times is desired. Maintaining the strong focus that music plays in worship by collaborating with our Worship Committee and Music Director is important to us, as is the continued growth of our child and youth ministry. Our recently renovated church building has a welcoming and inspiring cathedral-style sanctuary with an up-to-date audio-visual system. Our town of 12,500 offers proximity to larger centres on the 401 corridor. Ingersoll offers excellent elementary schools and a quality high school. A French Immersion school is nearby. Please submit your application and/or request Trinity’s Profile at trinitysearch2019@gmail.com.


Markdale, ON

Are YOU the one ready to walk with us in embracing the Spirit, to become a community hub in the thriving town of Markdale and the surrounding area? Annesley United Church is seeking a full-time minister. The individual should have a strong Christian faith, collaborative spirit and the ability to share the gospel to stimulate new ways of “being church”. We have an active music program, a regular Sunday morning program for children and a dedicated pastoral care team. Our location is approximately 1.5 hours from Pearson Airport, close to Georgian Bay, the Beaver Valley and Blue Mountain. Markdale is experiencing growth with three subdivisions approved and a new hospital, elementary school and supermarket planned. It is also the home of Chapman’s Ice Cream. Annesley’s building, which is available to the community, is the largest accessible venue in town. Interested candidates should email Mark Worthington at annesleyunited@gmail.com.


Medicine Hat, AB

Medicine Hat is small and vibrant city located in the prairies of southeastern Alberta. Westminster United Church is seeking a full time Ordained or Commissioned Minister, and will be accepting applications until May 12, 2019. Our church is a congregation of 196 households, with an average attendance of 70 at Sunday morning services. Candidates for this position should possess skills for transitional ministry and leadership, encouraging congregational renewal and development. The candidates will need experience in church administration, working with staff, church board, committees and others within the congregation. A flexible leadership style is important and the ability to work with all ages. The successful candidate will also be able to develop community connections and collaborations. Westminster United Church has a history of working with other churches and community groups, building strong relationships. Further information and the Joint Needs Assessment Report is available at www.churchhub.ca, or at our church website www.westminsteruc.com. We encourage anyone interested in this position to submit their resumé and cover letter to cameron.lockerbie@gmail.com.


Milton, ON

Ebenezer United Church is a beautiful country church established in rural Milton in 1833. Ebenezer is an hour from both Toronto and Kitchener-Waterloo. There is proximity to many amenities including great schools, medical facilities and recreational centers. We are a small, caring congregation, seeking a half-time minister to help us continue to grow and support our work in community outreach, youth ministry and pastoral care. We are strong in our faith and our willingness to work together. We are seeking an Ordained or Diaconal Minister and are open to those having experience and also those who are early in their ministry journey. Further information about Ebenezer Church is available at www.ebenezeruc.ca. Applications, with resumé and cover letter should be emailed to ebenezeruc2274@gmail.com.


Milverton, ON

St. Paul’s United Church is a fun, musical, caring traditional faith community in rural southwestern Ontario (within 1.5 hrs of Toronto, Kitchener-Waterloo, London and Guelph). We are seeking a full-time minister (ordered or DLM) who will provide spiritual leadership and guidance, and who will work collaboratively with the official board as we strive to fulfill our mission. Our new leader will help our congregation grow through inspirational worship, pastoral care and community outreach. The ideal candidate will be friendly, outgoing, have a sense of humour and be musically-inclined. Interested candidates can view our profile at www.londonconference.ca/content/vacancies under Milverton, (St. Paul’s) Pastoral Charge and check out our website at stpaulsuc.wixsite.com/milvertonontario.  Resumés and cover letters should be emailed to Pam Paradis at pdparadis@cyg.net.


North Battleford, SK

Third Avenue United Church is seeking a full-time Ordained or Designated Lay Minister. Information about our Church family, our ministry, and our JNAC report may be found on our website at: www.thirdavenueunitedchurchnb.ca. North Battleford is a growing community of 16,000+. Our congregation of approximately 200 families is seeking a dynamic team leader. The successful candidate will possess the ability to connect effectively with people of all ages and promote a welcoming church environment. Deadline for applications is February 28, 2019. To submit your resumé and/or to request further information, please contact our Corresponding Secretary, Ken Holliday, at 9702 – 97th Drive, North Battleford, SK S9A 0L4, or holliday.k@sasktel.net.


Oakville, ON

St. Paul’s United Church is seeking a half-time minister (OM/DLM) to join our existing Ministry team (1 F/T Lead Minister, 7 P/T lay staff). Working alongside an active Nurturing Care team, the successful candidate will take a lead role in providing compassionate pastoral care to all members of the congregation. The individual will also help develop programs that challenge, encourage and support the spiritual growth of our adult members as well as provide worship support on occasion. Connect, Engage and Transform with us at SPUC.JSC2019@gmail.com. More information (including full JNAC report) found online at www.stpaulsoakville.com.


Onaping Falls, ON

Onaping Falls is a vibrant two-point pastoral charge located in the beautiful northwest corner of Greater Sudbury. We are seeking a full-time minister who is happy to work with actively involved and creative worship committees to provide spiritual leadership and outreach for our congregations. For JNAC or other questions, please contact our Search Committee at cunninghamcloss@hotmail.com.


Perth, ON

Bathurst Pastoral Charge is seeking a half-time faith leader (ordained minister, designated lay minister, diaconal minister or student) to share their faith, friendship and sermons in a traditional style of worship within our two-point charge. The successful candidate must be able to lead the congregations in weekly corporate worship which preaches the Gospel of Jesus, incorporates inspiring hymns and songs and engages people in heartfelt prayer. Our charge is located approximately one hour from both Kingston and Ottawa, with a manse available. Both churches are located in rural communities. The Calvin church is located 15 minutes from the heritage town of Perth, while the Althorpe church is located 10 minutes from the village of Westport on Rideau Lake. Our congregations are multi-generational and have great pride in our faith roots. Interested candidates are asked to forward their resumé to David Timpson at personnel@bayofquinteconference.ca until November 30, 2018.


Port Colborne, ON

You are called, we have work to do fulfilling our  mission “To know Christ and make Him known”. Come serve with us at  Central United. Our active church has strong community outreach programs  serving “Port”. Located in South Niagara on the sandy shores of Lake  Erie, we share a rich cultural and historical heritage. We seek a  full-time lead ordered minister to help build on our past and lead us in  new ways to meet the challenges of Christian life in the 21st century. View our website centralunitedchurch.ca, which includes our JNAC. Apply  to Lori Smith at lorir1952@gmail.com.


Port Elgin, ON

Come grow with us! Port Elgin United Church - A caring Christian community of faith: growing, living and sharing God’s love! Located on the beautiful sandy shores of Lake Huron, Port Elgin United Church is seeking a full-time ordained or diaconal minister, as our current minister approaches retirement. Located in the Town of Saugeen Shores, a place to enjoy all seasons and a recreation lover’s dream, our community is experiencing tremendous growth. We are a diverse community of faith looking for someone who can appreciate a breadth of theologies and who is able to offer inspiring, thought-provoking worship services. Pastoral care is important to us, as is a minister who is able to offer care and support to those engaged in our Christian Education ministries. Your love of Jesus Christ, passion for music, and ability to collaborate and connect with people of all ages would make you an ideal candidate to join us during this exciting time. Our Living Faith Story (JNAC report) may be found on our website at www.portelginunitedchurch.ca. Please visit www.churchhub.ca for additional information and to apply for the position, by March 31, 2019.


Pugwash, NS

A shared ministry requires an ordained, diaconal or DLM 100%. Located in a beautiful village on the Northumberland Strait, Pugwash Pastoral Charge at 2/3 ministry and River Philip Pastoral Charge at 1/3 ministry. Two churches. Renovated manse in Pugwash. JNAC on UC website, www.marconf.ca. Contact Supervisor, Harvey Gullon at 902-257-1865, or harveygullon@gmail.com.


Rivers, MB

Rivers United Church is seeking a half-time minister with a passion for worship and community building. Our warm and friendly congregation has weekly worship with an emphasis on music and strong lay leadership. Rivers is a vibrant rural community with a medical clinic, good schools, service organizations and good housing. Lake Wahtopanah offers many recreational activities and the City of Brandon is 25 minutes away. Other half-time ministry opportunities nearby with possibility for an arrangement with a neighbouring pastoral charge. Contact vacancies@confmnwo.mb.ca.


St. Catharines, ON

Are you prepared for an awesome experience that will shape your ministry skills for years to come? Silver Spire is a healthy and growing community of faith which offers many opportunities for creative experiences and learning. This full-time ministry role will be shaped by the students’ learning goals and congregation’s ministry. Some of the opportunities for ministry include preaching, children’s ministry, youth ministry, pastoral care, street ministry, study groups and our arts ministry. If you need a placement, we are a Supervised Ministry Educational Learning Site. We can’t wait for you to tell us about your gifts, skills, passions and learning goals. You’ll encounter an extraordinary breadth of experiences at Silver Spire to help prepare you for your future in ministry. Learn by doing and doing it with us. Go to www.silverspire.ca and check out our recent JNA report, which is filled with information and photos telling you all about our vibrant downtown church community. Email a letter of interest and resumé to Shirley Scott at sscott64@cogeco.ca.


St. Joseph Island, ON

Want to experience “Island Living”? We are a small, rural two-point charge, richly blessed by the incredible beauty of our natural surroundings, the strength of our musical, artistic and farming communities, and our passion for helping our neighbours. The congregations, primarily adult and enhanced by seasonal summer residents, are committed to assisting with worship, outreach and pastoral care. Just 45 minutes east of the university city of Sault Ste. Marie, St. Joseph Island Pastoral Charge is seeking a full-time minister with strong preaching and pastoral care skills. A manse is available. Please submit your application to stjipcsearchc@gmail.com.


St. Marys, ON

St. Marys United Church, located in the picturesque town of the same name, is seeking to call a passionate and compassionate diaconal or ordained minister to lead our active congregation in worship and beyond. We are blessed with a faithful membership, complemented by an energetic Sunday School, a beautiful sanctuary and a talented choir. We are seeking a true leader, who will work with our team and church members with integrity, delivering powerful educational and inspirational preaching relevant to today’s world, both traditionally and through innovative formats. The individual will thrive through continued participation in the meaningful work of our church and community outreach projects and will motivate all to shine Christ’s light into our lives and set our faith in motion. If God calls you, submit your application on ChurchHub, or on the London Conference website www.londonconference.ca/content/vacancies.


Saskatoon, SK

McClure United Church is seeking an exceptional minister for the position of Minister of Worship and Renewal. Working in collaboration with two other ministerial team members, this position will have primary responsibility for congregational renewal (including outreach), preaching and worship leadership. This full-time, three-year appointment is open to an Ordained, Diaconal, or Designated Lay minister with a passion for renewal work. McClure has been defined by outreach since its inception and has both a seniors’ high-rise and assisted living complexes attached to the church. The entire church is multi-use with community and church events happening most evenings. We are an Affirming community of faith with active children, youth, and young adult ministries. The position is open July 1st 2019. For further information or to apply contact mcclureunitedsearch@gmail.com. A copy of the JNAC report is available at www.mcclureunitedchurch.org.


Shellbrook, SK

Knox United Church is seeking a half-time minister to serve approximately 50 families in a one-point charge. This is a congregation that is surviving (and thriving) after a year without clergy to call our own! Our jugband has elicited laughter and smiles in regional care homes. Our musicians are tops. We have dedicated folks who sit on church council, the worship and music committee, the local ecumenical ministerial association and lead workshop in the local long term care home and on Sunday mornings. When folks are asked to participate in worship, “no” is a word we have not heard. When there is a call for a work party, it feels like a party, and the work is accomplished. Our UCW discusses Observer articles each month. Shellbrook has excellent recreational, educational and health care facilities.  We are close to two urban centers, Prince Albert (47 km east) and Saskatoon (150 km south). A manse is available in Shellbrook, which has a population of about 1,400 people. If you are an enthusiastic worship leader and have an interest in pastoral care, direct enquiries to Deb Mervold: Box 351, Shellbrook, SK, S0J 2E0; d.mervold@sasktel.net, or 306-747-7580. Applications will be accepted until a suitable candidate is found.


Sicamous, BC

Sicamous United Church Pastoral Charge in BC’s beautiful Okanagan, situated between Shuswap and Mara Lakes, is searching for a half-time ministry personnel, to serve a small, open and caring congregation. It has a thriving thrift shop outreach ministry attached to the church. For more information call Bernice at 250-836-2300 and visit our website, www.sicamousunited.ca. Submit resumé’s to k_nickerson@hotmail.com.


Summerside, PEI

Trinity United Church is seeking a full-time experienced ordained minister to lead our financially stable congregation of 300 plus families. PEI is known for it quality of life, excellent educational and health care systems, affordable housing, warmest waters north of the Carolinas and the best seafood in Canada. Come join our way of life! Click here to view a video of our town. Our mission statement is: Trinity United Church is an inclusive and welcoming community that nurtures love of God, respects creation, seeks justice and serves others. We are seeking a minister who is friendly, sincere, empathetic, enthusiastic, compassionate, and has a healthy work-life balance. The key areas of responsibility are: leading worship, pastoral care, outreach and administration. The successful candidate will join a team which includes a full-time Office Administrator and part-time positions of organist/choir director, Christian Life and Growth Coordinator, Minister of Visitation, and Custodian. For further information, please visit our website at www.trinitysummerside.ca. Inquiries can be emailed to trinitysearch19@hotmail.com.


Toronto, ON

St. Mark’s United Church, a vibrant, community-oriented church in Scarborough, Ontario, is seeking a new, visionary minister for September 2019 and beyond, to guide our journey of faith. Our mission is to be a progressive, inclusive, life-affirming Christian community of faith in The United Church of Canada, one that is committed to engaging faith, scripture and tradition in progressive ways, seeking to be inclusive of all, regardless of ability, age, class, ethnicity, gender, race or sexual orientation, and striving to affirm the inherent blessing of life found in all creation. We are seeking a full-time minister to lead the congregation in the formation of its Christian character. We are a progressive, engaging, and Affirming church. We look to a minister to provide innovative ways of worship in conjunction with the music director, using traditional & contemporary music. The minister will provide leadership as we move towards something new, both within our community of faith and in exploring ways to connect and grow into our diverse neighbourhood and wider community. In addition to creating inviting and challenging worship services, the minister will collaboratively and actively support our strong lay leadership teams in providing compassionate pastoral care, relevant community outreach and social justice initiatives, as well as exceptional faith formation and Christian education activities for all ages. If you feel called to this opportunity, please visit our website at www.st-marks.ca for a complete position description and information on how to apply. Applications will be accepted until March 31, 2019, or until the position is filled.


Wallaceburg, ON

Trinity United Church in is conveniently located between Windsor and London, with close proximity to the 401, Lake Erie, Lake Huron and Lake St. Clair. We are a small-town community in Ontario’s agricultural heartland. With one of the most affordable housing areas in Canada and a temperate winter climate, we are a desirable location for a full-time minister seeking a new opportunity. The primary role of our Minister will be to lead and enable a team ministry which promotes growing and sharing our faith through regular worship, pastoral care, mission and outreach, stewardship and educational ministries of the Church. Our community offers public and secondary schools, a Christian school, French immersion availability, childcare facilities, and we are a short commute to St. Clair College and Lambton College. Our small town also offers an arena, curling rink, organized sports (baseball, soccer, lacrosse, hockey, basketball), outdoor tennis and fitness facilities. Our secondary school also has a public pool available for use. We welcome your application and look forward to meeting you. For additional information on our church please visit www.trinityunitedwallaceburg.com. To apply and see our Church profile, please review the vacancy listings for London Conference (www.londonconference.ca) and search for Wallaceburg.


Waterford, ON

Waterford United invites you to consider working with us in ministry as we explore the future of our church. This position, which arises from a two-year interim period, is open to diaconal and ordained ministers of the United Church. Discover more about Waterford United, located in Norfolk County, including our JNAC report at www.waterforduc.org. Please send inquires and applications in confidence to Waterfordjsc19@gmail.com.


Wingham/Bluevale, ON

The Pastoral Charges of Wingham and Bluevale are seeking a full-time, ordained minister due to a retirement. These neighbouring churches are located about seven kilometres apart in rural, mid-western Ontario. From these communities, it is about thirty minutes to Lake Huron, an hour to the Kitchener-Waterloo area and one and a half hours to London. These congregations are distinguished by their faith, fellowship and friendship. This partnership is looking for an individual who is compassionate, collaborative, energetic and imaginative. These faithful are looking for a person to work with them and lead them as they continue their spiritual journey. The congregation in Wingham is a mature community that gains strength and meaning through a more traditional worship service featuring hymn singing, preaching and prayer. Its strong, active choir provides a weekly ministry of music as well as special music during the Christmas season. The Bluevale congregation has both a mature base as well as an active and vibrant body of young worshippers. Ministry through music is an important part of both congregation’s worship experience. In both churches, there is an active UCW that serves not only the needs of the congregations, but also provides community outreach. This church partnership believes part of its mission is to serve the wider community. To this end, the Pastoral Charges of Wingham and Bluevale are active in their support of the local food bank. To learn more details about these churches and to submit an application, please visit the ChurchHub at www.churchhub.ca and the posting on the (former) London Conference website, www.londonconference.ca/content/vacancies and go to the (former) Huron-Perth Presbytery for listings. For information about the pastoral ministry, contact: hunter.murray@sympatico.ca. Deadline: March 31, 2019.



Other Positions Available

Director of Spiritual Care

Oliver Lodge is a non-profit corporation that operates a long-term care home for 139 individuals who are no longer able to be cared for at home and require special care. It was founded by The United Church of Canada and is currently operated by a volunteer Board of Directors. It retains its close contact with The United Church of Canada through its local church partners. The facility completed an expansion and major renovation approximately eight years ago. We have an opening for a Director of Spiritual Care to provide for the spiritual care needs of the residents of Oliver Lodge. While we are an Affiliate Special Care Home of the Saskatchewan Health Authority, Oliver Lodge’s values reflect a foundation of Christian faith. We strive to recognize and respect the spiritual, social and cultural beliefs of everyone living here and to facilitate the ministry of other denominations and religious groups as residents choose. To request more information, or to apply in confidence, please contact brandon.little@saskhealthauthority.ca or debbie.funk@saskhealthauthority.ca. The deadline for applications is April 8, 2019.



Ministry of Music

Camlachie, ON

Camlachie United Church (www.camlachieunited.ca) is seeking a qualified Music Director to lead and support our dedicated choir and play the Clavinova for Sunday worship. We need you… a team player who communicates effectively, will encourage musical gifts and will plan music with the minister. Please direct inquiries or submit resumé in confidence to the M&P Committee at tsalexander@cogeco.ca.


Oakville, ON

Glen Abbey United Church is inviting applications for a Music Director. Glen Abbey is a welcoming and inclusive faith community. Music, both modern and traditional, is an important part of the spiritual life of Glen Abbey. Key responsibilities are: provide leadership, direction and accompaniment for the choir, and lead weekly rehearsals; choose anthems and other music based on themes provided by the minister; provide worship leadership through musical accompaniment for the congregation, including Sunday worship services, and other services (e.g. weddings and memorials, for which additional fees will be paid); plan prelude, postlude and other musical offerings; co-ordinate and support other musicians and vocalists within annual music budget; encourage congregants to develop and share their musical talents (vocal and instrumental) and work collaboratively with the larger worship team, especially for Easter and Christmas seasons. This part-time position is based on approximately 8 hours/wk (6 hours/wk in July and August). The successful candidate will plan 52 weeks of music and be available to play for 46 Sunday services, providing a replacement when not available. Required Education, Skills and Qualifications: Mastery of piano and competency of organ, to accompany congregation, choir, soloists; ability to program and play a wide variety of musical genres; strong organizational skills; strong leadership abilities and previous church experience or experience working with the United Church of Canada is advantageous, but not a prerequisite. Glen Abbey has a Kawai GE-30 grand piano and an Allen MDS-36 digital organ. For further information about Glen Abbey United Church, please visit our website at www.glenabbeyunitedchurch.com. Resumes can be sent to keward@cogeco.ca.


St. Catharines, ON

Elm Street United Church seeks a creative music director and organist for an enthusiastic volunteer SATB choir of approximately 20 members. The organ is a world-class 3-manual Allen Renaissance, the piano a new Roland LX7 digital. The successful candidate will provide a versatile, spiritually uplifting and enlivening music program. Once part of our ministry team, the music director will be expected to plan and work with our pastor and pianist. Position is available immediately. Please contact us at elmstreet@gmail.com.


Vancouver, BC – Pacific Spirit United Church (formerly Dunbar Ryerson United Church) is inviting applications for the position of Director of Music. This is a full-time (40 hours/week) position. See full details at www.pacificspirituc.com/music-job-posting. We are a congregation of about 300 on Vancouver's west side.  In 2017 we celebrated a successful amalgamation of 2 churches, both with a rich history of strong music ministries involving different generations, musical abilities and styles.  We have a long-standing connection to the wider choral community with groups that rehearse and perform in our sanctuary. Pacific Spirit has one of the largest and finest Casavant Frères organs in western Canada, and a 9-foot Steinway piano. Please direct inquiries or resumés by May 1, to Paul Westwick at pwestwick4@gmail.com.



Other Positions Available

Family and Youth Ministry Coordinator

First United Church in St. Thomas, Ontario, is seeking a Family and Youth Ministry Coordinator who will facilitate the smooth running of the Sunday School program, Youth Groups and Nursery. The successful candidate will have a passion for working with children and youth and understand their importance in the church today and tomorrow. This is a contract position with 20-25 hours per week. For additional information please visit www.1stunitedchurch.ca. Applications may be sent to personnel@1stunitedchurch.ca.



Church Related

Church Website Service

Church Website Service - Churchweb Canada can help you update and run your church website. Our new sites are secure, fast and optimized for tablet and phone. Our support is unlimited and dependable. 844-541-4212, help@churchwebcanada.ca, or www.churchwebcanada.ca.


The Ministers’ Professional Association

Already in place and at work - at no cost to the United Church. Unifor Unifaith Community Chapter is for United Church Clergy, Faith Workers & Family. So much to discuss. So much wisdom to share. Let’s talk! Please contact Robin Wardlaw: President@Unifaith.ca; 416-840-3211 or www.unifaith.ca


Retired Clergy?

All Seasons Weddings, an event planning company, needs experienced licensed clergy, or wedding commissioners (JP) to perform wedding ceremonies in Alberta, British Columbia and Nova Scotia. This is a great part-time project for friendly, internet savvy, LGBTQ-friendly individuals. Interested? Email Casey at casey@allseasonsweddings.com, or call 1-800-545-3681



Spiritual Health

Loretto Mayholme Spirituality Centre

Guided Writing Retreat – "Nourishing Body; Nurturing Soul", Fri. April 5, 5pm - Sun. April 7, 1pm.  Facilitator: Brenda Peddigrew rsm. Explore deepening of the soul presence through the link between body & soul. Retreat includes Sat. morning workshop on Science Wellness + Energy Medicine by Dr. Joan Weir. 

Directed Silent Retreats at Loretto Maryholme Spirituality Centre – Mar. 5-7, Apr. 2-4, Apr. 30-May 2 (Tues. noon - Thurs. 1pm). Spend time in this sacred space. Relax, rest and refocus in an atmosphere of beauty, peace and solitude. Take time to receive the gifts of silence waiting for you.

Accommodation, home-cooked meals and spiritual direction are offered as part of these days. Call 905-476-4013, or email booking@lorettomaryholme.ca to register, or visit www.lorettomaryholme.ca.



Psychological/Spiritual help

Seek meaning and wholeness through the exploration of your psyche (dreams, images, and visions) with Daniel Hansen, Registered Psychotherapist, Jungian Analyst, Spiritual Director, ThD, MDiv, GrDip, BMus, United Church minister for 20+ years. Private and accessible consulting room in Renfrew, ON. Free parking. (www.ementalhealth.ca) Contact: 613-635-2127, or uccdan@sympatico.ca.



Events

AOTS Men’s Clubs

AOTS Men’s Clubs hold their annual Ontario Roundup April 26-28 at Salvation Army Conference Resort on Lake Simcoe. Rev. Ross Carson (retired) gives the keynote address Friday evening on The New Creed - Its 50th Anniversary.  Workshops, songs and evening entertainment highlight the Saturday program along with fellowship and lakeside walks. Roundup 2019 concludes with Sunday communion. Visit www.aots.ca, or call 905-252-6971 for more information.



Book Launch

A Women’s History of the Christian Church: 2,000 Years of Female Leadership (University of Toronto Press) by Dr. Elizabeth Gillan (Liz) Muir. Wednesday, May 1st, 7-9 p.m., Dora Keogh, 141 Danforth Ave., Toronto. Liz worked in the national church office (stewardship, UCW). Information: emuir@eol.ca.


John Dominic Crossan

John Dominic Crossan on Salt Spring Island (BC) Friday-Saturday March 22-23, 2019. Join us to explore how we can rescue a non-violent God from warring religions. "I Shall Not Hate," is a two-day symposium featuring Dominic's insights from his latest book, workshops on reconciliation, and creative explorations of peace-making. It is packaged with other optional days of stress management and recreation to fashion a Spring refresher course for church leaders: saints and seekers. Arrangements are made for limited, free accommodation (first come first serve) and transportation while on the island. E-mail Chris at chris.levan4@gmail.com for more information, or to register, and to inquire about special group rates. Or call Salt Spring Island United Church office: 250-537-5812. Registration is limited to 150. 



Church Supplies

Church Cushions

Church Cushions, Waggoners, Inc.  Full line of church pew and kneeling cushions direct from the manufacturer. Call toll-free at 1-800-396-7555, or visit us at www.pewcushions.com.


Church Dining Supplies

Church Dining Supplies Including Dishes, Cutlery, Glassware & Linens – In need of replacement dinnerware for church functions? Breaking coffee mugs or saucers and need replacements? Looking for quality low-cost linens? National Event Supply is a Canadian supplier of dishes, cutlery, glassware, linens and more. We routinely ship our products from coast to coast. Give us a call at 905-795-1667, toll free 1-800-827-8953, or send an email to info@NationalEventSupply.com. Check out our full product lineup online at www.NationalEventSupply.com.


Crownex Ltd. Robe Makers & Tailors,

Custom-tailored clergy apparel, choir gowns and vestments. Highest quality, low prices. Tel: 416-503-1288, email: info@crownex.com, website: www.crownex.com. Address: 1270 The Queensway, Toronto, ON, M8Z 1S3.



Services

Affirm United/S’affirmer Ensemble...

is a national organization for those of differing sexual orientation or gender identity in The United Church of Canada, as well as their families and friends, offering educational resources, advocacy and support. We encourage UCC ministries including congregations, courts and associated organizations to engage in the Affirming Ministries program endorsed by General Council. For more information contact Affirm United/S’affirmer Ensemble, PO Box 57057, Ottawa, ON, K1R 1A1. Email: affirmunited@affirmunited.ca. Website: www.affirmunited.ca.



Columns

(Photo: cuatrok77/Flickr via Creative Commons)

Cormorants aren't the devil

by Douglas Hunter

Ontario's proposed new measures amount to a slaughter of an entire native bird species for no scientifically compelling reason, says this writer

Promotional Image

Editorials

The United Church Observer's editor and publisher, Jocelyn Bell. (Photo: Lindsay Palmer)

The new name of 'The Observer' revealed!

by Jocelyn Bell

"United Church" will no longer be on the cover, but our commitment to sharing denominational news and perspectives remains the same

Promotional Image

Video

Meet beloved church cats Mable and Mouse

by Observer Staff

They're a fixture of Kirk United Church Centre in Edmonton.

Promotional Image

Society

February 2019

Marriage problems: Is the ancient tradition worth saving?

by Pieta Woolley

Bitterness and boredom seem to define many mid-life marriages, but we might not have to settle for apathy ever after

Ethics

February 2019

A Yukon artist and a Tlingit trapper create this stunning jewelry

by Amy van den Berg

The fur jewelry in Whitehorse boutique store V. Ægirsdóttir is creating a new possibility for future partnerships with the region's trappers

Columns

February 2019

Why white people need to stop asking, 'where are you from?'

by Mike Sholars

"...For all intents and purposes, Canada is the only home I really recognize or remember. But none of that matters if I look like I don’t belong, and that single question makes that abundantly clear every single time."

Promotional Image